#TomeTopple Readathon tbr

Hello booklovers, it’s that time of year for me to attempt to tackle some tomes. TomeTopple was created by and hosted by Thoughts on Tomes. It starts at midnight on the 4th of August in your timezone and ends midnight on the 17th of August in your timezone. TomeTopple is a two week readathon aimed at reading novels and graphic novels that are over 500 pages.

I’ve only participated in the first round of this readathon but seeing as I have been slumping recently and have started several tomes, why not plunge in head first?

There are some challenges that you can choose to complete, in order to help inspire or motivate you. I will be attempting all of the book challenges and will take part in some of the instagram challenges.

Read more than 1 tome

My goal is to read four tomes. Ambitious considering one of them is over 1000 pages but I love a challenge.

Read a graphic novel with more than 500 pages

tumblr_o2eqb3HYSk1thgorso1_500

The walking dead, compendium 1 by Robert Kirkman // goodreads link

I’ve only ever seen season 1 of the hit show and it was fun. Zombie apocalypse survival story? Sign me up!

Read a tome that is part of a series

sarahjm

A court of mist and fury by Sarah J Maas // goodreads link

I know, I didn’t enjoy A court of Thorns and Roses very much however, I’ve heard from other reviewers who didn’t like book 1 that book 2 is stronger and that Sarah J Mass takes it in a fresh direction. I’m actually feeling hopeful and I am intrigued to learn more about the fey court systems. (PS I never liked Tamlin).tumblr_n2m6vuMrNi1r2vo64o1_500.gif

 

Buddy read a tome

btr

Hero of Ages by Brandon Sanderson // goodreads link

I need to finish this trilogy, I’ve been reading a book a year since 2015. I am excited to see how things are wrapped up with the threads left open from the ending of Well of Ascension. I have a goal of finishing 12 book series this year and I have only completed 5 so far.

Read an adult novel

golem

Golem and the Djinni by Helene Wrecker // goodreads link

The cover is beautiful and I’m only a 100 pages into it. Just need some encouragement to sit and buckle down with this book. I love that it contains two magical creatures (beings?) that aren’t commonly used in literature and I love the references to Syria and Syrian culture, it makes the novel that much more rich.

Follow me on instagram

Add me on goodreads

Check out my last blog post August to be read for the other books I plan to read outside of the readathon.

Until next time, keep reading!

Roda

xox

7 thoughts on “#TomeTopple Readathon tbr

Add yours

  1. Like it that you’re giving ACOMAF a chance even when you didn’t like ACOTAR that much! I agree with the people saying it’s different from the first book. I absolutely loved it, so I hope you will too!

    PS: You’ll start disliking him even more if you’re a bit like me, haha.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think that’s the main thing encouraging me (that Tamlin dislike/hate is the norm :D) because after finishing the first one I felt weird that I wanted to know more about the court system but didn’t care for Tamlin as the romantic interest. Yes I’m normally willing to give series a second chance unless I despised book one haha x

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Oooh, awesome TBR! When I got to meet Sanderson he was actually reading The Golem and the Djinni. So yes excellent choices! 😀 And I’m one of those people that hated ACOTAR, but I read ACOMAF because friends kept insisting I do and it’s got so much more plot. Plus the inner circle really helped move the book along. I hope you enjoy it when you get to it! (TWD is good too I’ve read up to vol 3, yasyasyas.)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You got to meet Brandon Sanderson? I’m very jealous! Everyone raves about the Walking Dead and I’ve been craving zombies recently. You see, that makes me feel better. I think the first book suffered from being the introductory book to the world. x

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑